top of page

Unit 5: Why Things Go Viral

Broadcasting is changing dramatically because of the internet. In general, broadcasting is becoming much faster and much more widespread. This blog, for example, represents a form of broadcasting. In the past, a student taking a course could only submit a written paper assignment. It would likely only be viewed by myself and my instructor. However, because I'm writing my assignment as an online blog, this blog can be viewed by anyone who searches for it. I can share it on my Pinterest board or on my Facebook page.


Indeed when I shared one of my blogs on my Facebook page, I received multiple responses. It didn't necessarily go viral, but it was read, liked, and commented on by many people. Here's a screenshot of the responses I received to my, "Why People Binge Watch" blog.


I was very surprised by the amount of responses I got to the post, but since it didn't go viral, I wanted to use Professor's Gernsbacher's research-backed recipe for a viral internet thread to better understand why it didn't go viral.

1. It usually surprises its viewers.

Do you think that this post had an element of surprise? Likely, no. Many college students create blogs about daily phenomenon such as binge-watching through platforms such as The Odyssey. A college student with another blog isn't surprising at all.

2. It usually has a point of connection to the person who passes it on.


As one can tell from the above screenshot, this blog was only shared by one person, and although many people can connect about binge-watching, that doesn't mean that they necessarily want to tag each other in their friends' class assignment.


3. It usually plays on our emotions.


Although I tried to add in some funny comments to the post, I didn't make it so funny that people would die of laughter and feel compelled to share it with three of their family members and four of their closest friends. Therefore, this post was not extremely emotionally salient.

4 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page