top of page

Unit 13: Cognitive Behavioral Therapy via the Internet

Updated: Aug 7, 2018

Cognitive behavioral therapy is a type of therapy in which you talk with someone about your thoughts and your actions related to those thoughts. If you have a mental health problem, any problem at all, your provider may suggest that you undergo this type of therapy. Despite the common notion that mental therapy is all about laying on a couch in an office, cognitive behavioral therapy has become much more person-centered, focusing on your current goals and problems barring you from those goals.


2018 was the first year that I tried cognitive behavioral therapy. I went to University Health Services at UW-Madison because I knew that I was struggling with my body image. I knew that the way that I ate was not normal. I knew that I had too many rules, and I knew that I had a tendency to binge and purge. With a bit of encouragement from my family, I finally chose to go in.


When I went in for my initial assessment, I had to sit down and talk about all of what I had endured throughout my struggle with my body image. I cried the whole time because I had to speak about things that I had never admitted to anyone. Some of it was related to my eating behavior, and some of it was about the way I truly felt about my body.


After my assessment, I was assigned to a personal counseling and a group counseling session of people who struggle with body image. I usually preferred the individual counseling because I felt like I was accomplishing more. Every time I walked out of a session of individual cognitive behavioral therapy, I felt like I was walking on air because of how wonderful I felt. Having a conversation about what I was struggling with made me feel as though I could actually manage my struggles.


In Unit 13 of Psych: 532, we learned about the benefits of cognitive behavioral therapy via the internet. Based on a meta-analysis, we read that computerized cognitive behavioral therapy when administered immediately is actually more effective than in-person cognitive behavioral therapy that must be waited for.


I was intrigued by this study because it is a good representation of my current situation. I am currently living at home, so I am away from the university’s offering of free in-person cognitive behavioral therapy. However, the university also offer cognitive behavioral therapy via the internet through a medium called Silver Cloud.

After reading the study, I decided that, rather than waiting to attend counseling upon arriving back in Madison, I’ll be using Silver Cloud. I chose a group of modules all about improving body image. I’m hoping to complete these modules prior to going back to school. I’m very grateful to this class for improving my own knowledge about the resources available to me through my education. I look forward to completing the modules because I think it will give me the boost I need prior to enter nursing school.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page