top of page

Unit 1: A Look Back at My Initial Goals for Psych: 532


Reflecting on the goals I established at the beginning of this course, I realize that the skills I chose to hone are things that are part of life-long learning. First of all, I chose to work on communication skills, develop strategic planning and building self-confidence. According to the National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE), communication skills, a strong work ethic, initiative, interpersonal skills and problem-solving skills are all qualities that employers look for in employees. In my experiences as an employee and also from talking with others, I see that communication is the key to success in all walks of life. If one fails at making another understand something that needs to be done, the end result is that nothing will get done. This summer, I am working part-time as a pizza server at a local restaurant, working four days a week as a CNA at a nursing home, and taking this summer course. I have witnessed first-hand the importance of being able to communicate with customers as they choose their pizza as well as establishing ways to talk to older people as they try to let me know their wishes despite having cognitive impairment. I have also been challenged by taking an internet course where I only communicate through email and group chats and have come to realize the importance of thoroughly explaining oneself through this type of communication so as not to be misunderstood. While I feel that I am very good at communicating in all these aspects, I also know that communication is a skill that must always be developed because there can always be a breakdown in communication.


Another skill that I chose to work on was strategic planning. I feel that I have certainly done lots of planning in the last couple of years as I made decisions about college courses and career choices, but I came to the realization through this course, that as I become busier, it will be even more important to plan ahead for future career goals. Because nursing has so many diverse opportunities, it will be important for me to decide on an option and incorporate opportunities for my chosen career path. Currently, my job as a CNA is helping me to critically think about the possibility of working as a nurse in the long-term health facility or possibly becoming a nurse practitioner specializing in gerontology. If I decide to pursue that career, it will be st Century important for me to do a job shadowing experience with a nurse practitioner and certainly continue to work at a nursing home or assisted living facility. According to the article, 21st Century Skills Self-Assessment, it is critical to have a plan of action and also to reflect often on the plan to ensure that one remains focused on the goals.

Along with a plan, I felt it was important that I try to gain self-confidence. Coming from a small rural school, I am often overwhelmed by the magnitude of UW-Madison. By increasing my self-confidence I will better understand that I, too, have the ability and opportunity to do great things and need not be afraid to let others hear my ideas. This also ties in with risk taking. It is so easy to go with the status quo and not try new things. But, by taking risks and establishing self-confidence, great things can be accomplished. By doing the 21st Century Skills Self-Assessment, I gained the awareness that it is okay to admit when you don’t know something and then use problem-solving steps to take risks and gain the self-confidence to explore all the possibilites that are available to me.


Although I have always spent a lot of time on social media throughout my school years, I am not fully aware of all of the media products available to me and that is why I chose that as something else that I wanted to find out more about. I had actually considered a major in communication and took some courses during my freshman year and received a basic understanding of infographics and other elements of media. However, I feel that technical skills will become increasingly important as I get further into not only my major, but also throughout my career. This will be especially important if I consider a career in nursing education.


Because of my busy summer schedule with two jobs and an on-line course at UW-Madison, I have come to understand the importance of time-management skills and this was a skill that I decided would be good for me to pay attention to. I basically work every day for one week and then have two days off the next week. This makes managing time a critical element to my success, not only as an employee, but also as a student. According to the article, "Employers Rate the Importance of Candidates Goals/Skills," being organized and detail-oriented are some of the skills that employers want employees to possess. I feel that when one is extremely busy, it is often easier to become skilled at managing schedules. By working hard this summer, I am hopeful that a future employer will understand that I have a strong work ethic and other skills that are important to employers. By engaging every day, I am learning skills that will be viewed as valuable to my success as a nurse.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Follow me

© 2018 by Megan 
Proudly created with
Wix.com
 

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page